Day Eight: Last Day Living on an Island

Today we had a lot of fun. We went out early and set the long lines and the block rigs, then waited back here and Katie gave her talk on sting rays. We kept checking the lines and in between we had an awesome snorkel in the channel between two other islands. I saw and eagle ray and tons of interesting fish (including a porcupine fish that was waaaayyyy slower than the one on our video). There was an octopus, but unfortunately I was too far from the hole it sunk back into.

We caught a reef shark, two big nurse sharks, and a stingray on our lines in the afternoon. We had fun playing a few card games after dinner. I really enjoyed everyone on this trip and I think it will be cool to pull together an EarthWatch thing with Sinan and Nicole – I have a few ideas! Back to shore tomorrow!

img_4377

Leave a comment