Day One: Travels to Belize

So I left New York this morning in snow and 10 degree weather. After picking up a connecting flight in Belize City, I hitched a ride on a little tiny plane to Dangriga. It’s really windy today (made that second plane ride interesting) but still looks beautiful. Spent a while finishing my book on the hammock on my balcony, but I felt like I was going to blow away. Maybe the wind blows all the bugs away? I sprayed all of the clothes that I brought with crazy amounts of DEET anyway. A lot of it probably blew away anyway. That boat in the water from the sunny picture I took when I got here? It was a gonner. At time of writing, a group of people are holding onto a rope attached to a car and trying to save the boat. Will update.

Update: They are still trying to drag the boat out of the water after dinner. (I had pork chops with rice, by the way – pretty good. Food might not be as good as Hawaii though.)

We’ll see how tomorrow shapes up!

Leave a comment